Homemade Shea Butter Mix

Hey all! I’m uber excited to be back on WordPress, blogging my heart away, and even more excited to be sharing this post.

This is my first time making a natural hair care product and I think it turned out pretty alright.

Whipped Stuff.5.jpg

This Shea butter mix is easy to make and takes practically no time at all. I got the idea on how to make it from Naptural85, a Youtube personality and natural hair guru! Seriously, all those who don’t know her, I think it’s about time you officially introduced yourself. I think she has two channels–one for her hair and makeup tutorials, and one for her daily family vlogs. She’s really awesome to watch and she gives great hair care tips. Check her out when you have time!

But anyway, back to this post.

I made my Shea butter mix with:

  • organic African Shea butterWhipped Stuff.11.jpg
  • coconut oil
  • tea tree oil
  • olive oil
  • avocado oil
  • vitamin E oil

Whipped Stuff.9.jpg

Whipped Stuff.10.jpgNow, keep in mind that you can choose whatever oils you want. The only necessary starter ingredients are coconut oil and Shea butter. The rest is up to you.

Other necessary tools are:

  • Electric hand mixer
  • Large mixing bowl

I chose the oils that I did because I love how tea tree oil moisturizes my scalp and olive oil really promotes healthy hair growth. The vitamin E oil and avocado oils are for stronger and longer hair growth. But like I said, it’s completely up to you!

You want to add a teaspoon of each oil to your Shea butter and mix all the ingredients together using an electric hand mixer. (You know, the kind you use to mix cake batter).

The idea is to get the mixture to a nice, whipped consistency. Think, “whipped cream.” (Note that you will have to stop every now and again to get all the Shea butter off of the sides of the bowl and bring them back to the center.) Once you get it  to the same consistency as whipped cream, scoop all the ingredients out of your mixing bowl and place them in some kind of container.

And viola! You’ve just made your very own Shea butter mix.

Whipped Stuff.2.jpg
Another Shea butter mix using Argan, Vitamin E, and Sweet Almond Oils

This stuff is GREAT! I used it to do a twist out and, guys, it was the BEST twist out ever! It makes your hair feel super soft, super shiny, and it helps define all your curls.

I hope if you guys decide to make this mix, you’ll let me know how it worked out for you. I will be posting some pictures of my twist out using the Shea butter mix just so you guys can see what I’m raving about.

Anywhooooo, that’s all for now folks. ‘Til next time.

 

Cups Up!

Leave a Reply

