Homemade Shea Butter Twist Out

Hey all you turtledoves!

So…this post is kinda late, sowwy. But, as promised, here is my twist out. I used the homemade Shea butter mix I mentioned like two posts ago–I think– along with some of my other favorite natural hair products:

  • Kinky Curly’s Knot Today– works well for curl definition. I especially like using this for wash-n-go’s
  • Elasta QP’s Olive Oil and Mango Butter Leave-In Conditioner– keeps my hair moisturized and smells fantastic! Plus it’s not super heavy
  • Homemade Shea butter mix– you can find my blog post about that here
  • And a mix of olive, tea tree, avocado, and vitamin E oils for moisture, strength and thickness.

I honestly haven’t done a twist out in a while, and this one is probably the first one in like three months if not more. Most of the time I twist my hair in mini twists or just wash-n-go it up, but I decided to put my mix to the test. And what better way to test out a new product than by doing a hairstyle your hair isn’t accustomed to anymore??

The twist out turned out really well and I would totally recommend it to any of you guys out there looking for a new way to make your curls pop or just looking for a new style for your natural hair.

I prepped my hair by wetting it to the point where it was easy for me to detangle it. I didn’t drench my hair in water, but I definitely didn’t just damp it. (Wetting it also helps get rid of some of the previous product in my hair.) I sectioned my hair into four big sections and from those four big sections, I split them in half. I split the split sections (if that makes any sense) once more and started twisting. I like to make sure my sections are small to add more definition to my curls but you can always make your sections a little bigger if you don’t want your curls to be as small as mine were.

To twist my hair, I started with two strands then twisted from the scalp adding in hair a little bit at a time as I moved down. I didn’t Bantu knot my hair, but that’s also a good technique if you want to make your hair extra curly and wavy. But I have to tell you that Bantu knots, especially with smaller twists, makes your curls super tight. So if you’re not into tight curls, stay away from Bantu knotting or just twist using bigger sections, then Bantu knot your hair.

I added the natural hair products before I started twisting. The order you add the products doesn’t really matter but I like to add all the wet products first then use the Shea butter as a sort of sealant that holds the moisture and helps my hair dry faster. Plus it gives the curls more shape than the liquid products would alone.

twist out products.2
Kinky Curly’s Knot Today
twist out products.3
Elasta QP Olive Oil & Mango Butter Leave In
twist out products.4
Homemade Shea Butter Mix

I let my hair dry overnight then untwisted it the following morning and the finishing result was so worth it.

 

I hope you guys liked this twist out. Let me know how it works out for you if you ever decide to try it out!

CUPS UP!

Leave a Reply

