The Graduation Chronicles Vol. 3

In honor of my graduation, my father came all the way from Philadelphia to visit. We made plans to go out and enjoy the town for a while and, because my father came without a car, I had to drive us around as the official chauffeur which was both nerve-wrecking and fun.

When it was time to take my father back to his hotel, my mother and stepfather followed my car to our final destination. They gave me the chance to try and figure out which way I needed to go as they followed behind, but at one point during the ride I had taken a wrong turn somewhere and my loving parents tried to get me back on track by jumping in front of me. However, when they got off at one exit, I zoomed past continuing in the same direction (I’m hardheaded, I know). So, my parents had to immediately get off and catch up to me. Eventually, I realized that something wasn’t right, so I called them and they explained that I had made a wrong turn.

My parents eventually jumped back in front of me and guided us back to my dad’s hotel. That experience was probably one of the scariest and most eye opening experiences of my life, but it also made me realize a few things:

  1. I will always need my parents. Even though I’m preparing for college and a life of my own, I will always need them to guide me back home when I make a wrong turn. Of course I’ll have to learn to lead a life of my own, but I know that whenever I need to, I can always call and they’ll be there.
  2. Driving isn’t as scary as I thought it was. It was actually pretty fun to set my own pace, be in control of the road, and determine which direction I would take. While being in control of my own path is somewhat scary, it’s also exhilarating.
  3. God is always there. You can trust that no matter what, God will always be there to guide you back home. He’s always following behind you, watching your every footstep, trying to guide you back home, and, when you don’t listen, He’s only a call away. God is always there, and you never have to worry about Him leaving you behind.
  4. And finally, I need to figure out where I’m going and get a sense of direction…

Being chauffeur for a day was fun. My dad complimented my driving along with a few points here and there but, all in all, he got back to the hotel and I got one step closer to becoming an adult.

CUPS UP!


More News!!! You can connect with Plenteaful on Pinterest too! Click the Pinterest logo at the top of the screen to access and follow Plenteaful on Pinterest. There you can pin this, and other posts to your personal boards. Thanks for reading!

Graduation Vol 3

Leave a Reply

