For Combating Back to School Anxiety

Hello and Welcome!

In just a few days, a lot of us will either be heading back to, or continuing in the process of preparing for school. I personally will be heading back to college to prepare for the start of a new semester. I have mixed feelings about going back to school, and the pre-school stress I’ve been feeling has me anxiously counting down the days.

Back in high school, I would always get back to school anxiety. It’s the type anxiety that makes you restless; the type that causes you to spend many sleepless nights creating scenario on top of scenario of how the first day will play out. It’s the “Sunday night before going back to work” anxiety. Yeah, that type of anxiety sucks.

I felt that a lot in high school, and I’m starting to feel a little bit of that now. With anxiety comes a lot of tension and stress, and it’s never good to be building up stress before the stressful parts even get here. College in and of itself can be a pretty stressful time, so it doesn’t help that I’m at home, freaking out about school during my vacation.

So the question is, how do I combat back to school anxiety? If you asked high school me, I would say accept your fate–there’s no way to defeat the beast that is high school. But this is college me, and I might just have some tips to help you get over that intense back to school anxiety.

Prepare Yourself for a
1. Spend more time with loved ones and/or do things you enjoy. 

Spending time with people you enjoy being around always makes the stress slip away. You’re too busy enjoying your company to worry about school, financial aid, or whatever else is keeping you up at 4 in the morning. Do yourself a favor, and make plans to have one last hoorah with your pals before the official start of next semester.

If you can’t find time to organize anything with friends, then plan a you-day. What are some things that you truly enjoy doing? Things that make the stress disappear? Do some of those things. A you-day could be the perfect cure for impending stress.

2. Anticipate positive things.

Anxiety can cause you to picture the worst case scenarios first, but flipping the script might help get rid of that looming stress. Anticipate a good year in which you work hard, make new friends, or continue to strengthen old relationships. Don’t let your mind wonder into a world of failure and embarrassing moments. Combat anxiety by allowing yourself to anticipate the positive instead of the negative.

3. Spoil yourself.

In the words of Tom Haverford, “Treat yo’ self.” What better way to get excited about a new semester than by boosting your back to school inventory with new goods and nick-nakcs? This summer, buy things that will actually get you excited about the new school year. Whether that be new clothes or supplies, give yourself something to look forward to so it doesn’t feel like you’re just walking into an endless black hole for the next couple of months.

DSCF3826
This chair from Target was my ‘treat yo’self’ item. It was $40 and is one of the most comfortable things I have ever sat in!

4. Talk it out.

Whether we want to share what we are thinking or not, sometimes just openly admitting what we think/feel helps relieve some of the pressure and stress. I for one am not an open person, but on the rare occasion that I do share what I’m feeling, it’s good to know that there is someone who can either relate or sweet-talk me back to calmness.  Sometimes, all you need to hear is, “You’ll be fine,” to really feel the stress peel away.

5. Get some rest.

Simple yet effective, sleep is like the ultimate medicine. Whenever I feel stress coming on, I like to just lie down and let the world melt away. It’s a great little escape from reality and highly recommended by practically everyone. If you feel that back to school anxiety coming on, take my advice and take a nap.

Plus, it’s probably best for you to get your sleep schedule back on track before the first day of school rolls around. All in all, a good night’s rest = a little less stress!


I hope you guys find these tips useful. Let me know in the comments below if you too have any tips or methods for getting over back to school anxiety!

Thanks for reading! See you guys next Thursday!

CUPS UP!

3 thoughts on “For Combating Back to School Anxiety

Leave a Reply

